The problem with subscriptions

I really enjoy reading the NY Times, the WSJ, the Economist, and some Japanese news sources. Yet the problem with subscribing to any of these is that any articles I gain access to would still be unavailable to the people I would want to share them with, unless of course my friends happen to have the same subscriptions. This is like cell phones and in-network calling, except there are dozens and dozens of news sources. How would you and your friends ever all agree on one?

Yet if I were allowed to subscribe in a way that let me share articles with my friends on Facebook (say there was a limit of the first five people who clicked the link), that would be worth something. Plus I would be promoting the subscription to my friends. Notice sharing free articles does not promote the subscription; it promotes a free news source.
These companies are looking to the iPad to save them, but it’s not the device that’s the problem. It’s the business model.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The problem with subscriptions

  1. Anonymous says:

    The problem with subscriptions is that once you subscribe, they still continue to send you crap in the mail even 5 years after your subscription has run out to try to get you to subscribe again. But yeah, that's a good idea ryanCrystal

  2. Ryan says:

    very good point. thats why i have all my mail routed through my dad's house. he loves going through that stuff.

Leave a Reply

