Really going to Japan! / 本当に日本に行く!

This week I bought a one-way ticket to Japan. With the ticket in my hand and the date set, it finally feels like my dream of returning to Japan coming true!

It was five years ago I had come home from my mission in Tokyo to this house. It is paradise here in the summer with the beautiful green trees, wide open sky, and shimmering lakes. Something about leaving again brings back old memories. I loved adventuring on my own through the thick Minnesota forests, and the lazy summer days spent floating on air mattresses and a giant inflatable turtle. On a windy summer day I could skip class, run home, and rig up my windsurf board. (On one occasion I only barely managed to talk my way out of being seriously disciplined when some of the less-than-cool teachers marked me absent. Ironically, the discipline for skipping school would have been suspension.)

I think my favorite part of living here was how my friends would just show up whenever the weather was nice. I guess living in the default hangout is one way to guarantee a social life. Waterskiing until dusk should have been enough for us to run out of energy, but more often than not, Scott, Erik, Maria and I would continue trying to outdo each other well into the night as we swam our way halfway around the lake.

When no one was around, I’d lay on the dock and read. I rarely made it further than a page or two before I was caught up in a thought. I must have spent more time looking out over the lake dreaming of what my future would be like than I did actually reading. I remember one night I found myself alone on the dock looking up at the stars. That particular night was particularly still without even the slightest breeze, so the entire lake had a become a mirror reflecting the starry sky. Laying on the edge of the dock, I observed that no matter which direction I turned all I could see were stars. It was as if I were peacefully floating along in my swimsuit through the milky way. Life felt limitless and, at the same time, as though it required nothing more from me than to lay there dreaming in my swimsuit.

I try to remember that moment when the world seemed so calm, limitless, and inviting. I love to imagine traveling through space to new worlds and having experiences like no one has ever had before. While it certainly possible that I have spent far too many hours day-dreaming up a world made just for me, it was important for me to understand my deeper desires.

For me, Japan has been that new world where everything is different and the experiences are all my own. Even the everyday experiences of buying groceries, spending time with friends, and looking out over the night sky have been adventures. Japan is unique and special to me and they treat me as though I were too. (I mean in the non-retarded way–most of the time!) Japan has become the world that I can believe with all my heart was made just for me.

Now more than ever I can vividly remember how sad I was to leave behind me the unique new world I had discovered and fallen in love with. Five years ago this summer I was looking up at the same starry sky from the same Minnesota lakeshore. The stars seemed to shine more brightly and magnificently than ever, but they seemed forever out of my reach. I felt so out of place and though I tried to seem as happy as possible to be home again, I would often quietly escape to my room to cry by myself. Eventually I found the courage and determination to resolve myself to finding a way back to Japan. In that resolution I felt a strong feeling of reassurance that not only would I make it back to Japan someday, but that there was some very important purpose in doing so. That summer, I spent traded time waterskiing and windsurfing, so I could study Japanese. I must have made several hundred flashcards. That was probably a little crazy and my family certainly thought so (and didn’t mind telling me so). But I kept up with it and while many of my friends all but completely forgot Japanese, I was able to maintain my abilities in most areas and improve them in some.

Though I never gave up on my determination, I really started to doubt that I would ever have a chance to go back. Over the past few years, a number of my aspirations did not culminate and I started to think that maybe I have been too ambitious. Despite it all, however, I really am going to Japan! As I think about the adventures that lie ahead of me, I cannot help but wonder what other aspirations may actually be within my grasp and what dreams may come true.

本当に日本に行く!

今週日本への飛行機のチケットを購入した。チケットを手に取り、日取りが決まって、やっと日本に戻る夢が叶うと実感している!

東京から実家に帰ってきてから5年間が経った。美しい緑の木々や広々とした空、輝く湖の近くにある実家はパラダイスのように感じる。ここからまた旅立つことを考えると、なんだか切なく、ここで過ごした日々をいろいろ思い出す。ミネソタ州の深い森を一人で探検したり、湖でエアマトレスや膨らませて使う亀の形のゴムボートで浮かんでいたりする怠けた夏の日が大好きだった。風が強い夏の日なら、授業をサボり、帰って、ウインドサーフィンに行くことができた。(かつて、厳しい教師が欠席を記録していたため、あやうく停学処分を受ける所で危なかった。しかし、そうならないようにやっとのことで説得した。考えてみると、僕を停学させるというのがすごい皮肉。学校を勝手に休んだ生徒にもっと休ませるなんて。)

実家について特に好きだったことは友達が天気のいい日に連絡も入れず自然に集まってくれることだ。つまり、実家はたまり場となっていた為、社会生活を考えなくても、友達がいつも側にいてくれていた。夕暮れまで友達と水上スキーをして、元気を使い果たしたはずの所に、引き続き夜中も一緒に湖を泳ぎながら、お互い張り合っていたことが多かった。

一人のときは桟橋で寝ながら本を読んでいた。本を読んでいたと言っても、1~2ページぐらい読んだら、何か考えることが浮かんできて、それに夢中になったことがほとんど。それで本よりも湖の方を眺め、自分の将来のことをたくさん考えていた。ある晩、一人で夜空を見上げていた思い出がある。風の全くない静かな夜で、完全に平らな湖が夜空を写す大きな鏡となっていた。桟橋の端に寝ていて、どの方向に向いても、星しか見えない、とても綺麗な景色だった。水着を着たままで穏やかに天の川を浮いているような気がした。人生は限りがないと感じ、それと同時に水着で考えること以外に何も求められていない感じがした。

世界が穏やかで、果てしなく、素敵な所だと感じた瞬間を思い出しながら、いろいろ想像していた。まだ発見していない世界へ旅して、まだ誰も経験したことがないようなことを経験することを考えることがとても好きだった。自分だけのために作られた世界の空想にどっぷりふけるというのももちろん可能だと思うが、自分のもっと深い望みを理解することが必要だったとも思う。

僕にとって日本はすべて違う、体験したことが自分だけだけのものとなる所である。街を歩いたり、友達と時間を過ごしたり、買い物したりするような生活体験でも、一つ一つ冒険だと感じられる。日本はユニークで、僕にとって特別な所だ。そして日本の友達は同じように自分を特別であ
ように扱ってくれる。つまり、日本は自分だけのために存在すると思える所だ。

(本当に日本は自分だけのために作ってあるというような自己中心的な考えではありませんが、それぐらい住み易く、自分に合う所だと感じられると言いたいのです。)

大好きになった日本の世界から離れ、実家に帰ったことを今でも鮮明に思い出せる。今年の夏でもう5年前のことになるあの時は同じ湖の岸から同じ星空を見上げていた。いつもより明るく、壮大に輝いている星は初めてはるか遠く、手が届かなさそうに感じた。家族の前ではようやく帰れて幸せだというふりをしながら、密かに一人で泣いていた。しかし、最終的には勇気を持って、日本に戻ると決心した。決心をしたら、どうやらいつの日にか本当に日本に戻れる気がして、安心した。そればかりでなく、日本に戻るにはなにか大切な目的があると確信した。夏は水上スキーやウインドサーフィンをして過ごすよりも、日本語の勉強をしながら過ごした。あんなに勉強に集中していたのはちょっとまともじゃなかったかもしれない。家族は絶対おかしいと思っていて、いろいろ言っていた。それでも、頑張って、日本語を勉強して、日本語をほとんど忘れた友達と違って、日本語を忘れずにある程度少し改善した。

日本に戻ることを決して諦めなかったが、実際に帰れるかと疑っていた時もあった。この数年間いろいろ叶えられなかった望みもあって、自己の能力を過信していたのではないかなと思い始めた。しかし、それなのに、実際はこれから日本に行くんだ!この先に経験する冒険を考えてみると、他にどんな望んできたことが手に届くところにあるのか、他にどんな夢が叶うかを考えざるを得なくなった。

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

