How much do Japanese businessmen spend on clothes?

I have been trying to get a better sense of business culture in Japan, so I have been reading some different articles. Today during lunch I stumbled onto an interesting guide on business dress which includes a table of average money spent on clothing items (prices are per item*):

Suit: $550
Eye glasses: $330
Briefcase: $250
Shoes (1 pair): $175
Belt: $71
Shirt: $51
Necktie: $51
Hairstyle (Haircut?): $37
Socks (1 pair): $7
Total: $957

*Converted to USD at exchange rate of JPY ¥100 = USD $1. Numbers are rounded because I am lazy.

Ok so that may seem pretty reasonable if it wasn’t for the fact that I am definitely going to need more than one shirt, at least two suits, a few ties and a bunch of socks, etc. I’d also like to know if this survey was done in Tokyo or other parts. They say that while a person from Osaka will spend their last dollar on food, someone from Tokyo will spend their last dollar on clothes. In any case, I think I will get my shopping done before I go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How much do Japanese businessmen spend on clothes?

  1. and i thought women spend a lot of clothes…this brings it to a whole new level!are you thinking of going to Japan anytime soon?

  2. Ryan says:

    Hey April. Yes, if you haven’t heard already, I am moving to Japan this summer (August-ish).

Leave a Reply

