New Year’s Resolutions for 2009

I am doing New Year’s Resolutions a few at a time this year instead of making a long list. Once I feel like I have a handle on these, I’ll try to add more.

1. Read Ten Books

My goal this year is to read ten books, including the one I am reading now.

Last year I really enjoyed a book recommended by Tyler Cowen (blogging economist):

Fruitless Fall: The Collapse of the Honey Bee and the Coming Agricultural Crisis (Hardcover).
By Rowan Jacobsen

I also recommend it. It has a fascinating explanation of the way honey bees organize their work and manage their resources (yes, they dance, sing, and eat babies.) The problems leading to the honey bee collapse have subtle parallels to what could perhaps happen in our own lives if we too blatantly pursue output or production without taking care of ourselves along the way. This idea of taking better care of myself is the foundation for my resolutions this year.

Right now I am reading another book Tyler recommended:

Europe Between the Oceans: 9000 BC-AD 1000
By Anthropologist Barry Cunliffe

This is nothing short of a history textbook of Europe. I like it particularly because it explores the the role geography played in the way Europe developed technologically, socially, and economically. And since it is a history book of mesolithic and neolithic times, it can make anyone feel good about their life provided they do not constantly scavenge for food or do consistently survive winters.

On the other hand, it is extremely long and not always interesting. For example, there are like fifteen pages describing nothing but the physical shape of Europe without any additional insights… Seriously, a picture is worth a thousand words. And no, it does not help to turn Europe on its side and look at it that way. It is the same exact continent.

2. Consistent Exercise

My friend Sam helped me put together a five-day lifting routine which I plan to stick to throughout 2009 as much as possible (it’s hard to keep up with it when traveling):

Mon.: Chest
Tues.: Legs
Wed.: Back
Thu.: Shoulders/Tricepts
Fri.: Bicepts

I am also going to try to get in more cardiovascular, but I really don’t want to bother with that until its warmer. I hate treadmills and especially the smell of the cleaner they use on them at my gym.

3. Better Food

Erik has convinced me of the value of eating better food. My specific goal is to make my own lunch 3-4 workdays per week and make my own dinner when reasonable. I believe this will help me eat healthier because I usually eat worse when I eat out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions for 2009

  1. lisapow says:

    good list Ryan! Add Chicago marathon and you are set 🙂

  2. Ryan says:

    ohhh yeah! i think i’ll get all the cardiovascular i need there.

Leave a Reply

