I found an interesting new band while listening to MPR’s The Current during my trip to Minnesota over the past couple of weeks.

The band is called Beirut. They have a really nice blend of many instruments including acoustic (guitar), brass (trumpet) and a surprisingly well integrated accordion. Of their recent production, Lon Gisland EP, my favorite track is “Elephant Gun.”

The accordion reminds me of CYHSY, but the tempo and more mellow tone gives them a feel akin to Midlake.

Ironically CYHSY also features an accordion-based track titled “Upon Encountering the Crippled Elephant” on their most recent CD. Is there some obvious similarity between elephants and accordions that I’m missing?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Michael thinks you are misusing the word “ironically”.

  2. Elephants –> circus –> gypsies –> accordians. It is all obvious to the most casual observer.

  3. Ryan says:

    ahh. it was obvious after all.i use ‘ironically’ very liberally because i think the correct usage doesn’t get enough mileage to be worth having it in my memory banks.

  4. lisapow says:

    I like the new blog! I haven’t been checking it for awhile (because everytime I checked nothing changed) But NOW it is looking GOOD!!

Leave a Reply

